Wadsworth Community Radio

The results of the Nov. 8, 2022 election produced a surprising result in Medina County. Longtime Medina County Auditor Mike Kovack was defeated in his bid for a 9th term. Republican Anthony Capretta defeated Kovack by a 53% to 47% margin. Kovack took office as Medina County Auditor back on January 15, 1993.

Other Medina County-wide offices continue in Republican hands. Sharon Ray continues as the Representative of the 66th State House District. Colleen Swedyk was re-elected as a Medina County Commissioner. Linda Hoffman was elected as Medina County Recorder. Bill Hutson was elected as a judge on the Medina County Common Pleas Court and Julie Schafer was elected as a Judge on the Medina County Domestic Relations Court. In all of those races, the winners were elected by about a 2-1 margin.

In issue races, the renewal levy for the Wadsworth Public Library scored a big win. The renewal levy was approved by a 71% to 29% margin. The levy for the Wadsworth EMS Department (a 2.5-mill renewal levy with a five tenths of one-mill addition) was approved by a 62% to 38% margin. Finally, a seven-tenths of one-mill renewal levy for the Medina County General Health District was approved by a 58% to 42% margin.

In other races, Republican JD Vance defeated Democrat Tim Ryan in the race for the U.S. Senate. In the 7th Congressional District, which serves Wadsworth, Republican Max Miller defeated Democrat Matthew Diemer.

Out of 131,000 registered voters in Medina County, 78,000 voters cast a ballot — or 59%.

Find additional results on the Medina County Board of Elections website.

More election coverage: www.cleveland.com/election-results.

Categories: News

Tina Heiberg

Tina happily lives in her princess palace with her husband, 3 young sons and dog.